Welcoming Eliana

20 Jan

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 – Eliana is two days old:

I have skyped with Beth and the rest of the family a lot since Eliana was born Monday morning. My mom just sets up the webcam in front of the baby and I watch her. I can’t wait to hold her though! I cried when I saw Beth with her for the first time in the hospital (via mom’s ipad).

Birth is such a miracle; and we are all so very relieved that she is a healthy baby. All our fears from the doctors’ anxieties about her small size have simply been wiped away. We thank God! What a blessing to be able to watch a precious life start, grow, and mature. I’m so excited that I get to be her aunt!”

Eliana made her first visit to the “woodhood,” as Dad likes to call it, just before New Year’s Day.  She rode well in her car seat, and Carney’s parents also joined us inHarrisCountyfor a great weekend.  Grandy came as did several friends who were in and out.  Everyone was generous in giving me and Phillip extra “holding turns” since we would be returning toJordanfor several months.  On Phillip’s turns, he told Eliana about the Arabic alphabet and about the history of Semitic languages.  Her little face was so attentive and we all enjoyed seeing her be Phillip’s captive audience!

The pack and play was a great bed for her home away from home.  I love walking into the room where she is and seeing her swaddled up like a little chrysalis.  She, on the other hand, is a Houdini and doesn’t like to be wrapped up.  She’s definitely going to be a hands-free driver sometime around 2027.

During the week of Christmas, we spent several days inValdostaat Beth & Carney’s apartment above the BCM.  There, Mom gave Eliana her first hairwashing. Her little face fully expressed the satisfaction she must have felt with the warm water being poured over her tiny head and Mom’s fingers lathering miniature bubbles in her dark brown hair. It was so cute!  We will play salon when she gets older.

Also inValdosta, Beth’s childhood toy, a pound puppy named “Spot,” became the prop for several sweet pictures atop the changing table.  Eliana seems to like music, too, which is no surprise since her parents are musicians.  Joanna sang, “Lucas Girl” to her, and Beth & I harmonized along to some other songs.  When we learned several months ago that “Sancho” was a girl, one of my first thoughts was, “Oh, yay!  Another Hollaway girl singer!!”  She’s got her first syllable down already, it sounds something like /ng’a/.

It was hard to say goodbye to my sweet little niece.  I knew she wouldn’t be nearly as small the next time we were together, so I took advantage of kissing her plush little face and rubbing her tiny back whenever I had a chance to hold her.  Our family has been great about sending daily text photos to our emails.  I have printed one of my favorites (Mom holding Eliana while Beth reads Goodnight, Moon) and taped it up on our Jubeyha kitchen.

It is wonderful to have a baby born into one’s family. I have watched dear friends of mine welcome a newborn into their lives, but with Eliana, I felt something very special. She is related to me; her mother is my sister. And I feel that she contains part of me, even though she doesn’t know it.  And even though I don’t know what it is exactly that we have in common yet.  I can’t wait to watch her learn, walk, speak, and be able to fully express herself. Adding a new member to our family is a wonderful thing.  She will be with us and part of us throughout the rest of our lives. I am so thankful for Eliana Joy Lucas and the newness of her life.

2 Responses to “Welcoming Eliana”

  1. Karin January 26, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Eliana is beautiful! I know you’ll enjoy being an auntie :-)

  2. Jenny February 6, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    It makes me so happy! I like everyone in this picture and miss them all…and hope someday I can meet Eliana! :) Miss you friend!

Leave a Reply

